It’s My Motherfucking Birthday.

Older, better, wiser.

At 1:26p.m., I officially turned 30. It feels good, real good. Jacques bought me a drink. Dry, with a twist. Jacqueline made it expertly, so I only needed one. My Facebook page has been nonstop with the selfless goodwill of people who didn’t have to care to say “happy birthday”, but did. My heart is full. With happiness and gratitude and love. I honestly don’t want for anything more.

I’m not in any way afraid of “after 30”. And I don’t believe it’s all down hill from here. On the contrary, this is like the youth stage of fine wine. This is the launch pad; It only gets better from here, baby.

I feel like the “getting to know me” work of my 20s paid off. I feel like going forward, it’s about refining and refining and refining to make an elegant, one-of-a-kind piece. Today feels like the first day of that.  Only on a grander scale — a “no ceilings” kinda life. No boundaries, no “you can’t, you couldn’t, you probably shouldn’t.”

I’m usually a, “no,no. You go ahead” kind of person. I’m learning that it’s ok though to take a “fuck you, it’s my turn” approach from time to time. And so I look at what happens after the pomp and circumstance of today’s occasion, and I can’t help feeling like, in general, it’s my turn. Get out my way; greatness is motherfucking afoot.

And she turned 30 today. At 1:26 p.m.

In the spirit of Aquarius, I wish a very Happy Birthday to the fine folks who share this special day with me.

Y’all be good, now. You know how we do.

About moniquealicia

M.A.G. is a doctoral student at Howard University. She resides in the Washington, DC metro area, and is passionate about her love of family and friends, politics and conversation, and the exceptional meal. View all posts by moniquealicia

Leave a Reply

